Beauty / Hair

Jojoba

Are you using Jojoba Oil? If not its time to start.

Jojoba (pronounced ho-HO-ba) is a beauty super hero. Why? Well it begins with the fact that jojoba oil is not actually an oil. It’s a wax ester extracted from the seed of the jojoba tree which is native to the U.S. and Mexico. Wax esters’ molecular structure more so resembles the oil, called sebum, that our skin naturally produces than any other compound found in nature. Thats why it is theorized that applying jojoba to the skin can “trick” the skin into thinking it is producing enough oil, thus balancing oil production.

    • Moisturizer – I use a few drops at night only because it makes my face shiny. It will get rid of any dry skin that I have and then keep it from coming back. If you don’t want to use it alone you can add a few drops to you moisturizer.
    • Make-up remover – don’t worry that it will clog you skin, it won’t. Also I’ve read that some people clean their face with jojoba. Steam is used to open the pore then the oil is applied and washed off dragging any dirty in the pores away with it. Personally, I’d rather wash my face and remove my makeup with water and a makeup remover. Jojoba is a little too expensive for me to apply then wash off .
    • Hair – Jojoba’s hair benefits don’t stop. For extra moisturizing and conditioning you can:                                                                                                                                                         1. mix with a hot oil treatment    2. add a few drops to your shampoo and conditioner     3. add to leave in conditioner    4. use before blow drying   5. use alone to add shine 6. use to help detangle
    • Cuticle Oil – I like to mix a little with vitamin e with the jojoba oil. The jojoba molecule will pull the vitamin E along with it otto the pores and aid it’s absorption
    • Lip balm – I suffer from the a self created, self diagnose condition called chronic-like-a-crack-head-chapped-lip-syndrome. My lips peel and dry so quickly unless I keep them moisturized and keep myself hydrated. A little jojoba oil followed by shea butter keep my lips moisturized
    • Shave prep – You can apply it before your shaving cream and it leads to a smoother shave. I don’t personally do this. I nair. It’s moreconvienet for me.
    • Massage oil –  mmmm massage

Jojoba oil is a bit pricey, after hours of internet hunting it seems to me that the average price for a 4 oz. bottle is $8 and up with shipping fees but it does not become rancid easily like other oils so it has a long shelf life.

Side note: I hit a lick at buy.com and got a 4oz bottle for $6 and…..(wait for it)…….shipping was freeeee! Winning!

6 thoughts on “Jojoba

  1. Pingback: Mary

  2. Pingback: Products I love: Kimmaytube Leave in « Alyson's Beauty Blog

  3. Pingback: Jojoba (Simmondsia chinensis) | Find Me A Cure

  4. Pingback: Products I love: Kimmaytube Leave in - Alyson Pink

Leave a Reply

