Hair

Products I love: Kimmaytube Leave in

I’m starting a new page under the natural hair tab that’s going to be all about….you guessed it! Products I Love! The first is KimmayTube’s Leave in conditioner. If you’re not familiar with her she is a YouTube guru and she came up with this recipe using ph science then she deleted (Maybe she wanted to sell the secret?) but too many people already knew the recipe and so she wrote the formula on her YouTube page.

The ingredients are easy to find and it moisturizers pretty good. I was able to get second day hair with it! My mom didn’t like the leave in, however. She has a different texture than I do and she didn’t mix it in the recommended amounts (Hey, she’s old school. She the type to just cook by eye) I haven’t used it in a while though. I ran out of Aloe Vera Juice and tried to use Fruit Of The Earth Aloe Vera Whole Leaf Wild Berry Flavor Juice. Big mistake! That put so many tangles in my hair I thought I would have to save it all off! Don’t make my mistake. The recipe is below:

2 tablespoons of any silicone free conditioner

2 tablespoons of (Whole Leaf) Aloe Vera Juice

2 teaspoons of Castor Oil** (optional)

2 teaspoons of Jojoba Oil

*Silicone is not a curly’s friend. Leave that for the straight hair girls. Check your bathroom now and if any of these villains have snuck in, toss them!

**I use castor oil without any problems but I recently read that it is not good for our hair. Read and decide for yourself:

Lorraine Massey author of The Curly Girl method says:
“Castor oil has no hydrating properties- it rides/sits on the hair & gives nothing & blocks any moisture going in or out”

3 thoughts on “Products I love: Kimmaytube Leave in

  1. I just tried the Kimmaytube and my hair has NEVER felt this soft and moisturized. It is only day one, but so far I love it. I may leave out/ substitute some of the oil though because it made my conditioner a tad runny. Also, when I put it on my hair it was cold, which seemed to work better for my hair.

    Does anyone know how many times a week you are supposed to use the leave in?

    • I think a good rule to start with is after every time you wash you hair and go from there. I used to use it between 1x every two days to 2 times a day depending on how I what my hair to look. Regardless, you can’t go wrong as long as you look good! 😉

Leave a Reply

