Hair

Unsulfured Blackstrap Molasses & Natural Hair

molassesMy hair has been shedding a lot lately. I thought I was going to go bald until I found my old friend Unsulfured Blackstrap Molasses.  I used it weekly when I was transitioning  and it really helped to reduce the amount of breakage and shedding that I had. Once I went natural I used it less frequently but now it’s time I got back into the habit.

Why Unsulfured Blackstrap Molasses?

Molasses is ripened two ways, one method is to use sulphur on unripe green sugar cane, the other to allow it to sun ripened.  Sugar cane processed without using sulphur is more natural and healthier.  Molasses is produced by boiling sugar cane. The third boiling of sugar cane produces a thick dark substance known as blackstrap molasses, which is the most nutrient form of molasses containing calcium, magnesium, potassium, copper and iron.

Molasses is used internally and externally.

Externally

  1. I like to apply it to my hair and then cover with a shower cap. I leave that on anywhere from 30 mins to overnight then rinse out in the shower but be warned it will create a mess however its nothing a little hot water can’t wash away.
  2. You can also mix the molasses with you conditioner or aloe vera gel and let it set. Using it externally like this reduces hair shedding, breakage, and smooths your hair.
  3. Blackstrap molasses can also be applied to the face for 1 hour every night to smooth skin and restore glow.

Internally

  1. One-two teaspoons of molasses daily  will boost your energy. For this reason you should take it in the morning time.
  2.  It will also improve the health of your hair, possibly due to it’s high levels of iron. Iron deficiency can often cause hair loss.
  3. If taken daily for a few months it can also reverse graying hair and thicken thinning hair.
  4. It is used to relive and prevent constipation and diarrhea.

The benefits of blackstrap molasses are worth giving it a try. You can find it at your local health foods store. Here a 1 liter bottle cost between $6 and $8.

Have a question this blog didn’t answer? Ask ME!

Leave a Reply

